Tags

, , ,

This past week has been draining.

My mother-in-law was in town for a long weekend, and then I came down with a nasty little cold that I’ve been fighting off for the past few days.

While she was here to help, I sometimes feel like things get even more chaotic.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m all for having family members to just kind of dump my kids off to when I need a break!  But, it was good having the house back to myself and the kiddos after she left…and I could cough, and make weird “sick” noises in peace.

To top off the weekend, I pulled out one of my fave Paleo recipes, Jambalaya, (in all honesty, all of this chick’s recipes are my favorite) to cook for everyone on Sunday (including my dad who is “bach-in'” it up while my mom is visiting family in San Diego).  Juli over at PaleOMG is a genius, I tell you!

It brought everyone together, and kind of wrapped up the weekend.  I always know a recipe is a hit when even non-Paleo eaters (my dad…who’s Italian and LOVES his pasta), thoroughly enjoys it.

Anyhoo, here’s the recipe.  Click the recipe title and it will take you to her original post.  I use double the spices, except for cayenne.

(image courtesy paleomg.com)

Jambalaya (and it’s paleo hoes!)

Prep time:  10 mins
Cook time:  15 mins
Total time:  25 mins
Serves: 3-4

Ingredients

  • 2 andouille sausage, sliced
  • 2 chicken breasts, cubed
  • 1/2 lb – 1 lb peeled and deveined shrimp
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 yellow onion, diced
  • 1 green bell pepper, diced
  • 1 head cauliflower, riced
  • 1 (6oz) can tomato paste
  • 1 (14oz) can diced tomatoes, undrained
  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • 2 tablespoon olive oil
  • 2 teaspoon smoked paprika
  • 2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1 teaspoon dried parsley
  • ½ teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Instructions

  1. First get everything ready. It’ll make your life simpler. Dice all your veggies then throw your cauliflower in the food processor with the shredding attachment to rice the cauliflower.
  2. Now heat a large pot over medium-high heat with your olive oil. Add your garlic until it becomes fragrant then add your onion and green bell pepper to begin to cook down.
  3. Once the onion in translucent, add your cauliflower, broth, chicken and sausage. Mix together. Cover and let cook for about 5 minutes.
  4. Then add your tomatoes, tomato paste, and spices. Stir to incorporate.
  5. Cover and let cook for another 5-8 minutes or until cauliflower is tender and meats are cooked through.
  6. Let sit for around 5 minutes to cool.
  7. Consume!
